St Lawrence District

About St Lawrence District

The district was officially formed on September 30, 2004.  Maisonneuve District was split along linguistic lines forming St. Lawrence and Amiral districts.

Both districts continue to work together on joint activities such as the Salon du Bateau de Montréal et des Sports Nautiques, Marine Flare Disposal and Safety Equipment Education Day and Marketing Québec.

St Lawrence District originally consisted of 4 English squadrons.

Montreal, Lake St Louis, West Island and Lake of Two Mountains.

In April 2017, following a long period of inactivity, the Lake of Two Mountain Squadron surrendered their warrant to National ceasing operations. Squadron memberships were transferred to Lake St Louis Squadron unless the member requested a transfer to a different squadron.

Historically each squadron is structured to act autonomously and elect its own officers to organize it activities. The district role was to assist and provide guidance.

However due to the reduced number of volunteers and a duplication of tasks it was proposed and accepted by the majority of squadron members (accepted by National as a pilot program) to consolidate operations. This lead to the formation of district committees.

Governance, Finance, Membership, Education and Communications.

These working committees, under the guidance of a chairperson, centralize the activities for all squadrons and report on a monthly basis to the Governance Committee.